Simple Banana Oatmeal Recipe: My Favorite Post-Workout Meal

After every intense workout session, I come home feeling pumped up and exhausted at the same time. My muscles craves protein and carbs to repair itself and fill in the depleted glycogen. If I don’t fill those glycogen within 1-2 hours of my workout, my body will start breaking down my hard gained muscles for fuel. And that’s the last thing I want.

All the weight lifters know that keeping muscles full of glycogen is crucial for performance improvement, and more importantly, to lower the acceleration of exercise-induced muscle breakdown.

Researchers have found that subjects eating a low-carb diet had increased protein breakdown rates and reduced protein synthesis, resulting in less overall muscle growth.

Eating your post workout meal after 4-5 hours after your intense workout, however, is also a huge mistake many newbies make. After you complete your workout, your body is depleted of energy and glycogen. It needs imediate re-fueling to start protein syntesis and lower muscle breakdown. This is your “anabolic window”.

A study held by researcher at Victoria University found that the group that ate protein and carbohydrate meal immediately before and after the training built significantly more muscle than the group who ate their meal at least 5 hours outside their workouts.

Building a strong sexy lean body is not easy. It takes hard work and a long time commitment. But using modern science and studies can definitely help you reach you goals faster. That’s why,  I always have my  post workout meal with 3:1 carbs to protein ratio, within 1-2 hours of my training.

So, what do I have after my workout to maximize my muscle gain and stay lean at the same time? I am glad you asked.

My favorite go-to post workout meal – Banana Oatmeal with a pinch of cinnamon.

And in this post I am going to share it with you. But first, promise me that you are going to try this yourself after your next workout. Promise?

Ok.  I trust you. Now let’s hope into the recipe:

Note: This is a recipe for a 1 person only. If you want to prepare it for more, just multiply the amount of ingredients by the number to people you are going to make it for. Simple right?

Ingredients:

  1. ½ cup oats
  2. 1 cup water/ milk
  3. 1 raw Banana
  4. 1 pinch of cinnamon (Optional)

Recipe for Slow carb Banana Oatmeal:

1. Heat 1 cup of water in medium heat to warm up the water.

2. Add ½ cup of oats into the water after a minute.

3. Occasionally stir the mixture every minute for 4-5 minutes, until most of the water has been soaked by the oats.

4. Chop the banana into small pieces

Banana Oatmeal, Oatmeal, Cinnamon, Post workout, post workout meal, post workout meal recipe, healthy recipe, bigger leaner stronger, be healthy stay sexy, health and fitness

Sliced pieces of Banana

5. Sprinkle a pinch of cinnamon on top of your oatmeal and mix it together. If you add slices of bananas before mixing, all of the cinnamon sticks on the slices, which is not good. Trust me.

Banana Oatmeal, Oatmeal, Cinnamon, Post workout, post workout meal, post workout meal recipe, healthy recipe, bigger leaner stronger, be healthy stay sexy, health and fitness

Oatmeal with cinnamon sprinkled over it.

6. After you mix oatmeal and cinnamon powder together, add the slices of bananas you chopped in your oatmeal. Mix is all together and

7. Walla! You have made you first delicious and healthy Banana Oatmeal. Enjoy.

Banana Oatmeal, Oatmeal, Cinnamon, Post workout, post workout meal, post workout meal recipe, healthy recipe, bigger leaner stronger, be healthy stay sexy, health and fitness

Banana Oatmeal with a pinch of Cinnamon

And there you have it, folks. Healthy, tasty banana oatmeal. If you are feeling adventurous, you can even try out different variations of it. Adding honey, dark cocoa, coffee, cheese, there are so many possibilities. I am definitely going to try them all out.

After you tried it yourself, make sure to let me know by leaving a comment below. Do you think this recipe could be made better? Pour down your suggestions. I’m open to positive feedback 🙂

Now if you excuse me, I have to workout and eat some banana oatmeal!

Till then, I am Atul Pradhananga. Signing off.

Be Healthy. Stay Sexy.

###

Leave a Reply

